Tag Archives: Book Reviews

Home to Stay – Book Review

home to stay

 

She’s bringing his son home

A missing little boy triggers San Diego K-9 officer Shannon Clemens and her canine search-and-rescue partner into instant action.

For the rookie cop haunted by a childhood tragedy, bringing Sawyer Evans’s son safely home is more than a job… It’s a mission she can’t fail.

Forging a friendship with the father is a tactical error that could compromise her first solo assignment. Yet the deepening bond between them is almost impossible to resist…

Continue reading Home to Stay – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: Justice Delayed – Book Review

justice delayed

 

Justice Delayed by Patricia Bradley

It’s been eighteen years since TV crime reporter Andi Hollister’s sister was murdered. The confessed killer is behind bars, and the execution date is looming. 

But when a letter surfaces stating that the condemned killer didn’t actually do it, Detective Will Kincaide of the Memphis Cold Case Unit will stop at nothing to help Andi get to the bottom of it. After all, this case is personal: the person who confessed to the crime is Will’s cousin.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Justice Delayed – Book Review

A Daring Sacrifice – Book Review

daring sacrifice

 

The only thing harder than fighting for what’s right… is fighting their feelings for each other. 

For three years, the Cloaked Bandit has terrorized Wessex, robbing the nobility by knifepoint and a well-placed arrow. But, little does anyone know, this bandit is in fact Juliana Wessex, the rightful ruler of the land and a girl her tyrannical uncle – the current Lord Wessex – believes was killed along with her father.

Continue reading A Daring Sacrifice – Book Review

I Have Never – Book Review

i have never

 

Twenty-nine-year-old Blair Walker is a girl with a plan, or more a girl with a list. A list of dos and don’ts to live the perfect life, land a dream career, and marry Mr. Right.

When Blair loses her job and gets dumped by her boyfriend all in one day, she starts to wonder if she’s had it all wrong. And what better way to find out than experience everything the list forbade?

With hilarious consequences, Blair will discover some items are trickier to tick off than she’d thought…

A laugh out loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella, and Mhairi McFarlane. First Comes Love is a series of interconnected romantic novels. However, each book in the series can be read as a standalone novel.

SERIES: First Comes Love #2
GENRE: Contemporary Chick Lit
RELEASE DATE: July 13, 2017
PAGES: 228

At twenty-nine what do I have to show for it all? Nothing. No job. No boyfriend.

Confession time: I totally grabbed this book because of the cover. I love the style, the colors, the whimsy. It makes me smile just looking at it. Yes, it seems that I’m suffering from an extreme case of cover love 🙂

But the inside is just as delightful. I grinned through most of the story, except for those moments when I was holding my breath to see what Richard was going to do. Blair’s narrative voice is hilarious, snarky, and relatable – and her adorable dog Chevron could easily show up on my list of quirky animals in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post.

And let’s just talk about the romantical tension for a second. HOLY KISSINGBOOKS, BATMAN! Keep a fan handy for this read. The electricity between Richard and Blair could light up New York all on its own. I appreciated that Isley kept all the sexy times behind closed doors – just some kissing that will make you search for the nearest freezer and then fade to black. Blair sums it up for us later (which means you’ll be chuckling even as you fan yourself) but it’s still appropriate and classy. Isley does a fantastic job of conveying desire and emotion with a look… with a tight voice … with a text from an intrigued observer.

The secondary characters are fabulous, too. I’ve mentioned Chevron but I can’t forget everyone who works with Blair and Richard. An eclectic mix of personalities with a variety of skill sets who remain endearing even as they work to advance the story. Woven throughout these great characters and the off-the-charts chemistry is Blair’s reverse bucket list. Cleverly incorporated into the chapter titles, the items on Blair’s ‘never do’ list find her rather than vice versa. While she might think she’s setting out to check them off one-by-one, she rather stumbles into most of them, realizing many times after the fact that she could make this work for her list. It helped Blair – and the plot – seem even more engaging and likable.

Bottom Line: I Have Never made me grin and fan and laugh out loud. I also cried, not gonna lie, because Isley is a master of charged emotions and tension. It’s a light chick lit read but it’s also sweet, sexy and lots of fun. You’ll fall in love with Blair, Chevron, and of course Richard and his brooding British-accented self. It’s rare for me to find a romcom that I go back and re-read right away, but I did go back and find some of my favorite snippets to swoon over again.  I’ve read a couple of Camilla’s other books and enjoyed them but I Have Never is hands-down my favorite so far.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

Reviewer’s Note: Readers may want to be aware that there is cursing in this novel, and while nothing is explicit or detailed, there is the implication of intimate activity.

My Rating: 4 stars / Loved it!

KissingBook Level: 5 / Read this near a freezer or snowbank. 

Check out I Have Never here.

 

Guest review contributed by Reading Is My Superpower. Peek at Top Ten Tuesday and Favorites Friday but also frequent author interviews/giveaways in a style of review that stands out from the rest.

 

 

 

Embracing Hope – Book Review

embracing hope

 

About the Book:

Christian college dean Drew McKinley mourns his dead wife and still wears his wedding ring.

He stumbles on a desperate journey to understand God’s motives for her tragic death. Crossing his perilous path is Allison, a graduate student and new employee in the dean’s office. Even as she deals with financial hardships, she recognizes Drew’s unresolved grief from her own loss.

Continue reading Embracing Hope – Book Review

Unraveling – Book Review

unraveling

 

Title:  Unraveling
Series: Unblemished, Book 2
Author:  Sarah Ella
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date:  July 11, 2017
Genre: Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy

In the second installment of the Unblimished Trilogy, YA author Sara Ella asks, “What happens when happily ever after starts to unravel?”

Eliyana Ember doesn’t believe in true love. Not anymore. After capturing the Void and saving the Second Reflection, El only trusts what’s right in front of her. The tangible. The real. Not some unexplained Kiss of Infinity she once shared with the ghost of a boy she’s trying to forget. She has more important things to worry about—like becoming queen of the Second Reflection, a role she is so not prepared to fill.

Continue reading Unraveling – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: Blown Together – Book Review

blown together

 

When love storms in…

Wealth manager Sam Conrad is accustomed to his domineering father ordering him around, especially at the bank where they both work. But when his father demands that Sam manage the inheritance of his bossy ex-fiancée, Sam has finally had enough. He leaves in search of a new life, and attorney Big Roy Bosarge from Mobile, Alabama, agrees to mentor Sam on his quest for direction. Sam didn’t expect to be thrown together with Big Roy’s eccentric and opinionated daughter.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Blown Together – Book Review

Heart Murmurs – Book Review

heart murmurs

 

 

About the Book:

Mia Templeton is dying. Or was dying. After receiving a heart transplant, her world is forever altered. Before her eyes open, she overhears her donor was murdered. Whispers invade Mia’s mind before she’s even left the recovery room. She develops tastes for foods she once hated, and dreams so vivid, they feel like someone else’s memories. Her personality is altered – once a quiet doormat, she’s now inexplicably flippant, and confident. And her unexplained longing for the new boy at school is borderline obsessive.

Continue reading Heart Murmurs – Book Review

Dark Notes – Book Review

dark notes

 

Dark Notes by Pam Godwin
Published by CreateSpace on April 6th 2016
Pages: 428

They call me a slut. Maybe I am.Sometimes I do things I despise.Sometimes men take without asking.

But I have a musical gift, only a year left of high school, and a plan.With one obstacle.
Emeric Marceaux doesn’t just take.He seizes my will power and bangs it like a dark note.When he commands me to play, I want to give him everything.I kneel for his punishments, tremble for his touch, and risk it all for our stolen moments.

He’s my obsession, my master, my music. And my teacher.

Continue reading Dark Notes – Book Review